Aleksey I. Varlamov — well-known specialist in stratigraphy, paleontology and sedimentology, oil and gas geology and exploration; during 25 field seasons, he was team leader and party manager; Aleksey is highly knowledgeable about major Russian oil and gas provinces. His researches in Cambrian stratigraphy, paleontology and sedimentology have contributed much to the development of stratigraphic charts of the Cambrian sequences within Siberian platform; these charts are used in geological surveys, in building depositional models, paleogeography reconstructions, and global correlations, and also in prediction of oil and gas occurrence.

 

A. Varlamov is one of the main authors of the National Program for Geological Study of Subsurface And Mineral Reserves Replacement in Russian Federation, which is currently one of the most important documents in geology and subsoil use.

 

Since 2010 to 2018, Aleksey headed All-Russian Research Geological Oil Institute — the lead organization that determines the priority areas of geological exploration for oil and gas in regions both having a long history of field exploration and new, yet unexplored areas and water areas.

He was a leader of the most important scientific researches and developments, and several important structural subdivisions are created: geophysics department, geological and economic assessment department, oil and gas field development department; the activities of the latter one supports operation of the Rosnedra Central Commission for Approval of Hydrocarbon Field Development Plans. In addition, a network of successfully operating branches was established under A.I. Varlamov guidance in St. Petersburg, Izhevsk, Saratov and Novosibirsk; the staff of the Institute as a whole was strengthened; a series of annual Russian workshops "Modern problems of oil and gas geology and ways to solve them" was organized and held at a high scientific level. 

 

Under the guidance of A.I. Varlamov and with his direct involvement, large-scale scientific and analytical geological and economic studies have been conducted and successfully completed in 2012–2015, which allowed assessing the status of economic reserves, hydrocarbon reserves, and predicting of trends until 2030.He directs the formation of the federally funded geological exploration programs on the territory of the Russian Federation.  The resulting effect of these activities should be the advanced replacement of oil and gas resource base.

 

In-depth studies on two of the most important objects associated with unconventional shale oil (Bazhenov and Domanik) formations were started under the leadership of Aleksey; as a result, initial in-place and recoverable resources were estimated, the areas of maximum oil concentration were identified, and methodology of resources and reserves assessment were proposed. Development of these resources will allow maintaining the current oil production level in the coming decades.

 

A. Varlamov carries out great scientific research and social work; he is the President of the Association of Geological Organizations of Russia, Deputy Chairman of the organizing committee of three recent Russian Congresses of Geologists, a member of the Interagency Commission on Stratigraphy, Co-chairman of the Central Commission on Stratigraphy, Chairman of the Program Committee of the biennial International Conference "EAGE – St. Petersburg"; Aleksey actively participates in international and Russian congresses, conferences and workshops, where he always makes bright and interesting presentations.  He successfully participates in publishing activities being the Editor-in-Chief of the Oil and Gas Geology and Geology and Mineral Resources of Siberia journals.

 

He is engaged in wide scientific and teaching activities; Aleksey is the Head of the Department of lithology in MGRI-RGGRU and Academic Advisor of postgraduates. The main purpose of his activity is to train specialists for the industry and to promote professional skills of young scientists and specialists.

 

A. Varlamov is Dr. habil. in Geology and Mineralogy, a renowned academic recognized by Russian and international scientific community as evidenced by the award of prestigious Hans A. Rausing International Award for the Best Work in Paleontology (2009) and N.K. Baibakov Prize of the International Fuel and Energy Association (2014).  

 

He is author and co-author of numerous scientific publications, among them are six monographs and over 100 academic papers.

 

Awards:

  • Trade Union Central Committee Medal (2003)

  • Excellence in Subsoil Exploration Badge (2006)

  • Hans A. Rausing International Award for the Best Work in Paleontology and Stratigraphy  (2008)

  • Honoured Prospector Badge (2009)

  • Hans A. Rausing International Prize for the Best Work in Paleontology (2009)

  • Medal For Strengthening of Military Commonwealth (2010)

  • Title Honored Geologist of the Russian Federation (2011)

  • N.K. Baibakov Prize of the International Fuel and Energy Association (2014)

Варламов Алексей Иванович родился 24 февраля 1953 г. В 1970 г. окончил Новосибирский государственный университет по специальности «Геология». А.И. Варламов — широко известный специалист в области стратиграфии, палеонтологии и седиментологии, геологии и поисков месторождений нефти и газа, провел 25 полевых сезонов в качестве начальника отряда и начальника партии, высоко компетентен в вопросах геологии важнейших нефтегазоносных провинций России. Его исследования в области стратиграфии, палеонтологии и седиментологии кембрийской системы во многом способствовали разработке стратиграфических схем кембрия Сибирской платформы, которые используются при проведении геолого-съемочных работ, при построении седиментационных моделей, палеогеографических реконструкциях и глобальной корреляции, а также при прогнозе нефтегазоносности.

А.И. Варламов является одним из ведущих разработчиков «Государственной программы геологического изучения недр и воспроизводства минерально-сырьевой базы Российской Федерации,», которая в настоящее время является одним из наиболее важных документов в области геологии и недропользования.

С 2010 г. по 2018 г. Алексей Иванович занимал пост генерального директора ФГУП «ВНИГНИ» (с 21.10.2015 г. ФГУП «ВНИГНИ» преобразовано в ФГБУ «ВНИГНИ») — головной организацией, определяющей приоритетные направления геолого-разведочных работ на нефть и газ в регионах с давней историей поисков месторождений и на новых, еще не разведанных территориях и акваториях.

В настоящее время он является первым заместителем генерального директора, научным руководителем института.

Под его руководством развивались важнейшие научные направления, создано несколько важных структурных подразделений: отделение геофизики, отдел геолого-экономической оценки, а также отдел разработки месторождений нефти и газа, деятельность которого обеспечивает работу Центральной комиссии Роснедр по согласованию технических проектов разработки месторождений углеводородного сырья. Кроме того, под руководством А.И. Варламова создана сеть успешно работающих филиалов в городах Санкт-Петербурге, Ижевске, Саратове и Новосибирске, укрепился кадровый состав института в целом, организованы и проведены на высоком научном уровне серии ежегодных всероссийских совещаний «Современные проблемы нефтегазовой геологии и пути их решения».

С 2012 по 2015 гг. под руководством А.И. Варламова и его непосредственном участии проведены и успешно завершены масштабные научно-аналитические геолого-экономические исследования, которые позволили оценить состояние рентабельных запасов, запасов углеводородов и дать прогноз динамики изменения до 2030 г. Под его руководством происходит формирование Программ геолого-разведочных работ на территории Российской Федерации за счет средств федерального бюджета. Конечным результатом этих работ является расширенное восполнение ресурсной базы нефти и газа.

Под руководством Алексея Ивановича были развернуты углубленные исследования по изучению двух наиболее важных объектов нетрадиционных источников сланцевой нефти — баженовской и доманиковой формаций, в результате чего были оценены геологические и извлекаемые ресурсы, выявлены зоны максимальной концентрации нефти и предложены методики подсчета ресурсов и запасов. Освоение этих ресурсов позволит поддерживать текущие уровни добычи нефти на ближайшие десятилетия.

А.И. Варламов проводит большую научно-общественную работу, является президентом Ассоциации геологических организаций России, заместителем председателя организационного комитета всероссийских съездов геологов, членом межведомственного стратиграфического комитета, сопредседателем Центральной стратиграфической комиссии, председателем Программного комитета Международной регулярной конференции «EAGE — Санкт-Петербург», активно учувствует в международных и российских конгрессах, конференциях и совещаниях, на которых всегда выступает с яркими и интересными докладами. Успешно участвует в издательской деятельности, является главным редактором журнала «Геология нефти и газа» и главным редактором журнала «Геология и минерально-сырьевые ресурсы Сибири».

Алексей Иванович ведет широкую научно-педагогическую деятельность, заведует кафедрой литологии в МГРИ-РГГУ, руководит работами аспирантов, основной целью его деятельности является подготовка специалистов для отрасли и содействие повышению уровня профессиональной квалификации молодых ученых и специалистов.

А.И. Варламов — доктор геолого-минералогических наук, известный ученый, признанный российской и международной научной общественностью, о чем свидетельствует присуждение ему престижной Международной премии Г. Раусинга за лучшую работу в области палеонтологии (2009), а также премии имени Н.К. Байбакова Международной топливно-энергетической ассоциации (2014 г.).

Автор и соавтор многих научных публикаций, в том числе 6 монографий и более 100 научных статей. 

Награды:

  • Медаль ЦК профсоюзов (2003)

  • Знак «Отличник разведки недр» (2006)

  • Лауреат международной премии им.Ханса Раусинга за лучшую работу по палеонтологии и стратиграфии (2008)

  • Знак «Почетный разведчик недр» (2009)

  • Международная премия Г. Раусинга за лучшую работу в области палеонтологии (2009)

  • Медаль «За укрепление боевого содружества» (2010)

  • Звание «Заслуженный геолог Российской Федерации» (2011)

  • Премия имени Н.К. Байбакова Международной топливно-энергетической ассоциации (2014)

Контент доступен под лицензией Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License